• Ritual Post
  • Posts
  • To the people who still believe in magic...

To the people who still believe in magic...

I believe in you.

Okay friends, my newsletter is all set and ready to launch this week! And do you want the truth? Well, here it is…

I am embarrassed of myself.

I have this newsletter that I’ve been dreaming about, that I’ve been working hard on for weeks, and that I am so excited to share, buuuuut…

To be honest, now that it’s time to start asking people to sign up, I’m facing a lot of internal resistance.

Because here’s the thing… Over the years, I’ve put a lot of effort into my public image and how I want to be perceived by others. And although I’ve tried to do so as authentically as possible (without stepping outside of my personal, protective boundaries), there are always elements of my personality that I leave out.

But I want this newsletter to be a place where I can let myself just be who I am, talk about things the way I want to talk about them, and let my inner fairy-witch fly high and shine; but taking down my walls is so completely and utterly terrifying, that I’m literally shaking in my boots over it…

Growing up, I was the kid who wanted to stay a kid even as all my peers were beginning to grow up and “mature.” As a result, I often felt like something was wrong with me. Why was I so different from everyone else?

I’ll never forget the day that my childhood best friend asked me “aren’t we getting a little old for this” as I brought her upstairs to play one of my favorite games…

Or how out of place I felt with my peers when I realized that suddenly, all of their interests were vastly different than mine…

Or how anxious I got anytime people asked me about my favorite movies or shows, because I still liked “kid stuff”…

Or how uncomfortable I felt acting like someone I wasn’t — like who I thought I was supposed to be as I began to grow up before I was ready.

I used to be ashamed of who I was, so I learned to hide. And even now, as I’ve grown to love, accept and even appreciate who I am, I still feel like I have to hide. It’s just what I’m used to.

But I’m getting tired of this game. I’ve gotten bored and lonely in my hiding place. And actually (now that I think about it), I never really liked hide-and-seek. So I don’t want to play anymore. I want to play a different game.

Let’s play witches.

This is a game where we recognize our inner magic and share it with each other.

This is a game where we step into our power and shine.

This is a game where we let go of what we think we’re supposed to be, what we think others expect of us, and whatever it is we’re so damn afraid of; so that we can be our most brilliant, vibrant, and beautiful selves.

This is a game where we make up our own damn rules; and that is my favorite kind of game.

I hope you like it too.

xoxo,

Alex Wilson, Creator and Curator of Ritual Post