The End of a Season

Shifting with the Solstice

I meant to send this last week, but it got lost in the fold.

Here’s what’s up… I am cycle-shifting. This is a natural process for me that occurs multiple times a year.

I have two main cycles. A more outward, connected, and involved cycle where I am drawn to work and connect with others and be in community. And, a more inward, quiet and reflective cycle wherein I take a step back to focus more on myself and my art, or my family and my interests.

Last year, this more inward cycle aligned with the acquisition and development of Ritual Space; and all of that inward energy went to developing the vibe and the brand. I basically disappeared for three months, and then re-emerged in the outward cycle with the launch of Ritual Space.

That outward cycle lasted until November, and the inward cycle came again just in time for the holidays. 

I’ve been in another outward cycle now since early March, and during that time, I’ve delivered approximately 15 emails. Let’s think about those 15 emails as a season — like the way a TV show has seasons. This is the last email of the season before I fully transition into my quieter cycle.

I used to fight against my natural process of cycle-shifting. I used to beat myself up over it. Berate myself for starting things that I could never stay committed to. 

Now I know better. It isn’t that I’m not committed. It’s just that I operate in seasons. And although this season of writing weekly emails is coming to an end, when the time is right, a new season will begin.

And in the meantime, my energy will be focused on the things that happen in the behind the scenes of my life. I’ll be devoting way more time and energy into writing (and hopefully finishing) the first draft of my novel. I’ll be making changes to my home environment and spending more time there. I’ll be learning to cook new recipes, and exploring new modes of artistic expression, and re-devoting myself to personal practices.

It will be a time where, instead of focusing my personal magic on others, that magic will be lovingly focused on me.

Thank you to everyone who has connected with me here and read through some or all of the emails I sent out this season. I look forward to reconnecting with you when the cycles shift again.

xoxo,