Spring Has Sprung

My inner critic is a flower... what do you think that means?

Welcome to the Astrological New Year

According to astrology, (if you believe in that sort of thing anyway), we’re gearing up for a tough season. For the record, I definitely believe in astrology. And whenever the astrology starts to turn, I like to use it as an excuse to NOT do things.

At least, that’s what my inner critic likes to tell me. “You’re lazy. You’re always making excuses to not do things. What’s the matter with you?” (If you’re into visuals, my inner critic is delicate daisy named Candice, and she is angry).

Sometimes I wonder… why do I use astrology (and other things) as an excuse to not do things? Not because of what Candice has to say about it, but because I’m sure there’s an actual reason.

Is it because I’m always making myself do things, even when I don’t want to do them? Even when I don’t have the energy?

I’m tired, ya’ll, but my inner critic will not let me rest. Candice is incessant with her talk of what it means to have value and worth, and according to her, it requires NOT being lazy. NOT letting exhaustion slow you down. NOT making anyone feel bad because you decided to sneak a moment that was supposed to be just for you, even though someone else wanted/needed something from you.

Yesterday morning I missed a call from someone I know — someone I never talk to — who wanted to ask me some questions about yoga. I missed her call because I was reading a book that I was really enjoying. To be honest, I didn’t even notice the call come through.

After I finished reading, I set the book aside, and decided to check my phone for the first time since I’d gotten up. She had left me a voice message, and do you know what her first words were? She said “maybe you don’t like me, and that’s why you’re ignoring my call.”

And guys, I know the reason she said that has nothing to do with me and everything to do with her, but it triggered the shit out of me. It ruined my day. My inner critic got to work on me in the worst way, and any energy I had for the rest of the day was completely washed away, pulled up through Candice’s big, ugly roots.

At first, I was pretty upset about it. I was upset that this person assumed I was ignoring her. I was upset with her for expecting me to answer the phone. I was upset with myself for missing the call. I was upset that it was okay for her to not answer without it meaning anything when I called back. And I was upset with myself for being upset about it all. I just wanted to move on and go back to enjoying my day.

Alas, t’was not in the cards for me, because I couldn’t shift my energy. And do you want to know why?

Because I didn’t give myself the time I needed to sit with my feelings.

It was the end of the day by the time I finally took a step back to do just that. It was the end of the day before I was finally able to identify what was going on. And when I did, I called in my higher self, who stepped forward to say, it’s okay for all of these feelings to exist. Just let them be, and let yourself rest.

So I did. I let myself consider my feelings. I wrote them down on paper. I closed my eyes and felt them inside my body. And then I took a solid 30-minute nap. When I woke up, I felt better.

And then I listened to my astrology forecast in the Chani app, and Chani said we’re in for a rough Aries season.

Now, just because we’re about to go into a solid 4 weeks of astrologically induced struggle, that doesn’t mean I’m actually going to do nothing. I will likely do nothing sometimes, and I will say it’s because of the astrology. But really, this is just a an opportunity for me to give myself grace in the moments where nothing is what I need.

Hoping that this Aries season brings you clarity, healing, and plenty of permission to be messy.

Happy Aries Season, Happy Spring, & Happy New Beginnings.

Xoxo,

Side Note, if you’re looking for a fun way to celebrate the Astrological New Year, I hope you’ll consider joining me and several pals for a special ‘Lucky Girl’s’ event on Friday, March 22nd from 6PM-9PM.

This event includes:

  • Yoga

  • Champagne

  • Snacks

  • Gifts (including a journal and pen)

  • A Vision journaling activity

  • Aura Readings

  • Supporting a cause I care about

Tickets are all inclusive at $65 a pop. Learn more here